The Office Desk

claire-sheldon
PHOTO PROMPT © Claire Sheldon

“You don’t have to do that just yet, Midge,” Patrick said.

Margaret placed a box on the desk and squinted at Patrick, “No. I need to. I… I can’t keep seeing it…”

Her hands gravitated towards the plush penguin hidden among the clutter, squeezing it for a moment. She remembered when she had given it to Cyn.

“How did Cynthia-?” someone whispered from the other-side of the office.

“A tree… she crashed into a tree,” Margaret said, stifling a sob.

“Oh… s-s-so-orry.”

Margaret swallowed deep and steeled herself. This was going to be harder than she expected.


I’ve been quiet from Friday Fictioneers for a long time now, and that’s just from sheer laziness. I have been meaning to come back for so long. Hopefully, I can get back to a regular schedule! This is run by the wonderful, Rochelle, who weekly provides a photo as the means of a prompt. You have 100 words to write a complete story from that photo. You should totally come and join in the fun! If you like what you see, there’s even better stories available to read from that blue froggy, so click away. 🙂

19 thoughts on “The Office Desk

  1. I lost a dear colleague years back. He was a good friend as well. Not only had I to clear his desk but had to take over his portfolio as well. Your post reminded me of him. RIP, my friend.

    Very well written, Cheers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

