Ostracized

Television humming,
Mingling with lost –
Ostracized – conversation.
Shunned and ignored, she hides –
Hides in her thoughts, her skin.
Kin always fight. Words fly,
Lies muttered –
Uttered with malice.
Less and less, she hears the hate –
Ate it for breakfast, lunch, dinner.
Inner turmoil boils over.
Over it all!
All’s not fine. All’s not well.
Well, I… be easier to not be here-
Hearing them, feeling them –
Embellished loneliness rises.
Success marked when blade breaks –
Rakes skin.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Ostracized

  1. This made me shiver. And oh, wow, I just re-read and realized it’s an echo poem. I love how the form serves the poem, all the repetition reinforcing the loneliness, fear, desperation. My favorite lines:
    Less and less, she hears the hate –
    Ate it for breakfast, lunch, dinner.

    Like

  2. Great emotion throughout – the tension rises all the way up until “success.” And I love: “Less and less, she hears the hate –
    Ate it for breakfast, lunch, dinner.”

    Like

  3. I appreciated all of the surprising rhymes. Poems where it’s obvious the writer is having fun with the language are always engaging to me. My favorite line was “Kin always fight. Words fly/.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

