Weekly (Yearly) Progress Update #5

So it turns out that I had an alarm set on my phone to remind me to write my weekly post update, and during my vacation, I had turned it off. I’ve missed it for two weeks straight, and nearly forgot about it again this week. I’m a day late, and because I’m on the train, I can’t report the exact number of words written. But there’s one thing that’s certain, I’ve gotten a lot of nothing done. Yes, I’ve written, as evidenced by my blog, but I haven’t written much on my book, and for the first time since the year started, I didn’t get a 500+ word story in last week.

The big update of this week is that I won something! It’s nothing major, and it doesn’t earn me anything more than a badge on my blog, but I’m super happy about it, nonetheless! I was one of the winners of the Editor’s Picks on Yeah Write’s weekly contest:

This week was also a very sad week for me, as I’m sure it was for many other writers. This week marked the end of the life of a brilliant writer. Harper Lee was one of my major inspirations, and To Kill a Mockingbird is still my favorite book of all time. The movie adaptation is one that I name as the most faithful adaptation made, and though it still missed parts from the book, it is among my favorite movies, too. I was eleven when I first read it, and I read it again a couple of times before being forced to read it as part of the required reading in my Junior year at high school.

When Go Set a Watchman was rumored to be published, I grew angry. Here was this amazing woman who had decided that she definitely did not want this book to be published, but in her final years, it was being released when I’m unconvinced she knew it was happening. I have boycotted it, and I will continue to do so.

Enough on that, this week I was still writing every day, but most was not posted on my blog. I spent a great deal of time reading other work and providing feedback. I also finished The Martian, bringing my yearly total of books thus far to 4 completed. I started reading Shizzle, Inc by Ana Spoke this week, and I’m about 20% of the way through that. I’m debating on putting it down, though, and going to something else, but I feel like I’ve read too much of it to do that. Besides, I finished The Cellar, and that was worse than horrible.

I didn’t write anything towards my book this week, and this is where I have to admit that I feel my greatest problem lies at the moment. That makes a full month since I’ve really written anything in earnest. Some of that is due to the need to finish 20 books this year, some because of the stories I write for Yeah Write and Friday Fictioneers, but mostly because I don’t manage my time well. I write every morning, but then I don’t spend much time writing at night. I might read, but mostly I’m still watching a lot of stuff. If I really want to have the book finished by mid-year, I need to kick my butt into gear.

But on that front, I did spend the better part of Saturday and some of Sunday reading and making notes on my first draft of Bloodlines, and I’m about 50 pages into it now. The first two chapters are being super edited, too. I’ve decided to change perspectives on both, and show a lot more than the telling I did in the first draft. It’s going to be a big job. I literally started around midday and didn’t really finish until midnight on Saturday. Admittedly, I played a few movies in the background during that, and I was slightly distracted by that. But still, I went through every page with a fine-tooth comb, and I’m feeling incredibly good about my chances of having the first edit done by May, in time to get my second draft submitted to an editor to get it more spruced up.

I spent a bit of time looking up about the editing process, as well, and I’m getting both excited and scared. Scared because if the editor comes back and says I have nothing worth editing, I’ll be devastated, and excited because if there is something there, I may be looking at a late year release of my book. I’m also debating on going with a crowdfunding publisher for my release, but that is going to require me to put in much more effort than I have been, as I feel like I need an incredibly strong online presence. I also might need to look at having a personal editor to help with all my spelling and grammar mistakes through the stuff I just write on my blog. haha

I’m getting there, and hopefully by this time next year, I’ll be feeling much better about my career. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Weekly (Yearly) Progress Update #5

  1. I am struggling to get back into writing this year, of any kind.
    I had a go editing my first NaNoWriMo and struggled to do more than a page, and that took about five hours, sigh.
    I would suggest you think about “Go set a watchman.” I haven’t read it, but from what I understood, Harper Lee was much more into releasing it than some of the internet rumours suggested. My sister and niece are both fans of “To kill a mockingbird’ (I liked it, but not as a favourite book) and they both enjoyed ‘Go set a watchman’

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have been quite prolific, as I’m sure you can tell, and I’m loving it. Doing these little short fictions has really helped me develop my writing. As for Go Set a Watchman, it was actually the first draft of To Kill a Mockingbird, as evidenced by a number of things within it. Lines were directly used from it in the finished novel. I also am unhappy to read a telling that paints Atticus Finch in a poor light, as he is my favorite character next to Eowyn & Aragorn in LotR. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

