The Anniversary Gift – FF (100wd)

melanie-greenwood
Copyright: Melanie Greenwood

The blindfold is impossibly tight, but I play along.

Roger is driving, and I can’t really tell where.

For our anniversary, he said there was a big surprise. We’d had a few rough patches lately, but I knew he was a good man.

The car stops, and he leads me out.

When the blindfold comes off, the first thing I see is the aeroplane.

“Uh?”

“I just bought it, Clara,” he says with a wry smile. “I won the lottery!”

I shriek joyously!

Then that woman walks up and takes his arm.

“And I want a divorce,” he says.

 

Today’s post is my first attempt at Friday Fictioneers, a weekly challenge and critique blog for writers. Check it out! The picture is the prompt, and there is a 100 word limit each week. This prompt came in at 99 words. Phew!

24 thoughts on “The Anniversary Gift – FF (100wd)

  1. Dear Melony,

    First, a hearty welcome to Friday Fictioneers. It’s only fair to warn you that this is a highly addictive activity. A little like The Hotel California. You can check out anytime you like, but you can never leave. 😉

    Good job on the story. Very well told with the gasping twist at the end.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much!! I’ve been reading about Friday Fictioneers for about a month, and couldn’t get the courage to do it. You do a fantastic job managing it! Thanks for reading! Glad you enjoyed it! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

