Happy New Year, Bloggers!

giphy
source: giphy.com

It’s finally here! 2016 has come with a bit of a whimper. Celebrated it with good friends and family last night, and the radio didn’t even bother with a countdown. We played cards and had some drinks and a fair number of laughs, so it was a good time. 🙂

Today is a Friday, and I made a promise to myself that as part of my new lifestyle change, I would get into the habit of writing on the blog every Tuesday and Friday. Hopefully I’ll be more prepared and the blogs will be slightly better edited than they are now. But I can’t make any promises on that end. 😉

Today’s subject is goals. Now, I explained in my previous post Stop Calling It Resolutions, that I don’t believe in resolutions. They are too easy to break. That my changes would begin at the beginning of this week because that’s when I set my heart on doing them. I set up a schedule of when I would focus on the things that I want to focus on most, and thus far, this week, I only broke two of the items on my schedule, and that was my leg workout yesterday and last night’s editing session, because… New Year’s Eve. haha So I believe I’m well on my way to setting up that rhythm that I so desperately need.

But with all this lifestyle changing and scheduling, I need to set myself some goals. And not just “I wanna read & write more in 2016.” I’m talking about SMART goals! Which is generally used in the business world, and makes me a total nerd for using it outside of work. It doesn’t mean smart… it’s an acronym…

3am_smart_1
source: brookrecruitment.com.au

Just because we want to forget work outside of it, doesn’t mean that elements of the workplace have no credibility in everyday circumstances.

I had 3 main areas I want to improve on. Basically, I looked at the SMART goal setting and created the goals based on those principles. It must be specific, something I know I can do, and give a time-frame in which to achieve it.

  1. Health & Fitness – I’ll be documenting my progress on my Instagram for this. My goals are simple. By the end of the year, I want to have:
    1. dropped down to 58kg/128lb (I’m 5’2″, so this is about right for my BMI). Currently I am at 71kg/156lb.
    2. lost 10% body fat (currently at 36%)
    3. moved down to a size 8(AU)/4(US) dress size again, currently at 14/10.
    4. be able to run 10km/roughly 6mile in around 1:05hr by the time of the Bridge2Brisbane in August/September.
  2. Writing – my blog will be the springboard for this. I am aiming to complete:
    1. 35 stories for 35 years of age. 🙂 Most will be posted on this blog, minimum length is 100 words, so my weekly 42 word challenges will not count towards that.
    2. Book 2 of Young Mystics series written to completion by June 2016.
    3. Book 1 fully edited both self and professionally with a release by December 2016, or if confident enough, submitted to a publisher by that time.
    4. At least 5 stories submitted for publication with magazines, journals, etc by the 31 Dec 2016.
    5. Attend at least 8 Writing Group meet-ups by 31 Dec.
    6. 500 words written a day every day, whether it be towards my book, a story, or a blog post.
  3. Reading – I’m well aware I need to read more in order to have the tools to write well. I haven’t read much over the last few years. So this year, I will document my progress of book reading briefly on here, but mostly on my largely unused account on Goodreads.
    1. 20 books read this year. That makes nearly 2 a month.
      1. At least 5 of those books will be from self-published authors so that I can review them on this blog and hopefully give them some much needed love on Kindle and the like.
      2. Expand my horizons and read at least one book that is mainstream popular, but not necessarily good. Such as Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse books.
      3. Read at least 2 new releases this year.
    2. I have a shortlist, currently, of books I will be reading this year. I’m open to some other suggestions, as well. Feel free to shout out a book that you genuinely enjoy. Predominately, they will be from my desired genres, including Young adult, Horror and Sci Fi.
      1. The Beast House Collection (Collection Volume 1) by Richard Laymon (counts as 3, since there’s three separate books in it)
      2. Rising (The Adept Cycle #1) by Shanan Winters (fellow blogger, but also an all-around great writer! I can’t wait to get started. Bought my copy today. 😉 )
      3. The Martian by Andy Weir
      4. Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris
      5. The Maze Runner Series by James Dashner
      6. The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner
      7. Shizzle, Inc by Ana Spoke (not my usual fare, but she’s a fellow blogger!)

And there you have it… I have a bit to do this year, but I honestly think it’s time I get off my lazy butt and smash some goals. I have an 8 day holiday on a big cruise ship on the first week of February, so my blogs may not happen on those days, unless I work super hard to have them ready before I leave. My writing and reading goals will continue, though, because I can’t think of a better way to unwind than to sit on deck with a book and a glass of… something refreshing. haha

Here’s to a great new year!! 

giphy1
source: giphy.com
2 thoughts on “Happy New Year, Bloggers!

  1. Mel i have the maze runner series if you want to borrow it…series were ‘meh’ but still a good read…movies are completely on a different tangent!…love your blog entries xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey, thanks for that! I have the whole set here. ☺ I’m not overly keen but YA is my desired genre to write so should read them. Hehe thanks for reading, Kel! Means a lot! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

