NaNoWriMo Update – I’m a Wiener

Wait! That was supposed to be: I’m a Winner!

It is 5:48pm 14 November, and I have finally completed National Novel Writing Month!

Sadly, my word count is at 50,269, and I have finished the book to completion. Which means I have a really short book, that may become even shorter after the editing process… Not ideal. Buuuuttttt I’ve done the impossible anyway! Exactly two weeks and I have officially written a novel! Time for a happy dance!

I have some material leftover that I decided to put in the second book. Now I have to wonder if I should just follow the momentum and begin the outline and start writing book 2. I know that means the editing process will take 3 times as long if I do that. But I’m feeling mighty proud and efficient for a change. haha

I’d like to remind anyone out there that is showing any amount of word count envy… I took 1 solid week off work. I didn’t do much more than write during this time, and I still suffered from word count envy myself. Two of my buddies got there before me. In fact, technically, because they live in the U.S., they beat me by more than a day each. Still…. for the first time ever, I can call myself a NaNo winner, and that feels pretty bloody amazing!

If you are struggling with your story or the aforementioned envy, just remember how awesome you are for starting! Everyone I have on my buddy list can easily still win, and because your circumstances are different from mine, I can honestly say you are all doing an incredible job! Keep at it, and finish your word count and your novel beyond that!

Love your work!
4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Update – I’m a Wiener

    1. Thanks! 😀 Pretty stoked! I’m thinking back at this week and my poor effort every day and realising that had I not taken that week off, I would have struggled a lot. So glad I did it. Now to spend a month and a half writing the next one, I think. haha

      Like

  1. Congrats! That’s so awesome. I think you should definitely keep writing. Whether that’s starting over on book one and expanding/revising/editing, or jumping into book two, you should keep your momentum going. That’s one of the best things about NaNo. It gives us a giant dose of creative energy that can carry us past Nov. 30th.

    Amazing job and congrats again!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Jen!! I have made up my mind tonight to assess my current outline for the second book tomorrow and just start pantsing it too. Might take me an extra month and a bit to finish it, but I’m definitely feeling that creative energy spike and would hate to waste it. 🙂 Thanks for the encouragement! And good luck on finishing yours, as I’m sure it’s going to be longer than the necessary 50k words! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

