Day 5 – Progress Update for NaNoWriMo

It turns out that my best effort thus far is still my Day 2 effort of 6500 words. Yesterday came as a close second with 6413 words, putting me now at 22,285 words. I’m seriously envious of the people out there capable of writing 10k to 15k word days. I’m flat out trying to write 6k…

Example: The voices in my head keep saying this.

I am now staring at the almost halfway mark, and that makes me incredibly happy! I still have 4 days to smash out my goal of 30k, so much so, that I’m actually going to make a stretch target now of 40k. According to NaNo yesterday, if I continue on the path I’ve set, I should finish the book on 9 November.

Unfortunately, the fun as to end soon.Today I won’t be able to get out as much story as the past few days, though. Midday, hubby and I are driving out to Costco to do some much needed stock-up shopping, so I’ll be missing around 5 hours of solid writing time. I will take my iPad with me, though, so it won’t be a total wash. But I also know how distracting it is to ride in a car with music going. My goal for the end of the day is 3k words, and I’m feeling good I can nut most of that out before leaving.

Then tomorrow I have housework, which will eat up 2 hours of the day. Saturday means PT and grocery shopping, and Sunday is food prep and laundry day. All up, I’m going to lose around 10 hours over the next four days, which equates to around 6-8k words, if the last few days are any indication.

I’m crossing midway point into the second act by the end of today, though,Β so that’s awesome! And I realised yesterday that it wasn’t double spaced, which accounted for why the chapters were so short. I think now, the book may actually be slightly longer than 50k, and I’m totally okay with that.

Well, no rest for the wicked. Time to get stuck into my daily goal.

3 thoughts on “Day 5 – Progress Update for NaNoWriMo

  1. I have to admit I am struggling a little with Wordcount Envy πŸ™‚

    Logic tells me that I was always going to be a little slower getting into this, and that two of my writing buddies had motive/opportunity to frontload their writing.

    Psychologically though… being 3rd out of 4, and only sneaking in that position by a whisker, is not a happy place. Especially with 1 & 2 position being more than three times my total πŸ™‚

    That aside, I am actually slightly ahead of my planned target, recovering from my bad Monday (I forgot I had to work late and was exhausted by the time I got home). I wont have an excuse for not hitting 10k tonight, and the weekend is when the writing really begins.

    I am really pleased to see your progress though. Seeing others progress their wordcount is good inspiration, ignoring the wordcount envy, and even better that you seem to be enjoying the writing. That is what it is about, at least to me

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nawww thanks, Vesp! I’m slightly underperforming today. Thanks to a phone call that has sent my morning inspiration out the window. But I’m certain if I didn’t take this week off, I’d be closer to 5k by now. Lol you’re doing great!

      Like

  2. Turns out my target was 10,000 words by tomorrow, so although I am disappointed i only did 1800 words today, I am still 129 words over today’s target.

    I think I deserve a spa so I can watch all the fireworks explode around me πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

