Flash Fiction Challenge 2015 Results

So my first round story for the NYC Midnight Flash Fiction Challenge 2015 scored a solid 7 points. It was not an overly strong story, in my opinion, but the feedback garnered from it was valuable nonetheless.

Today Round 2 results were announced. The story I submitted was much stronger than my first round story, by no stretch of the imagination. I thought it was well worth a 10…

But the judges didn’t agree. In fact, it didn’t score at all. I’d be interested to know what stories were their picks, but most of them have not been posted. They must have been some fantastic stories!

With that ends my 2015 future with the FFC, as the lowest combined score to go ahead in my group was 15. That’s actually quite low for this challenge, so I know there must have been some stiff competition in my group.

Nevertheless, I have learned heaps again from my experience with this year’s challenge, and I am certain that with the help of the other contestants, I am becoming a stronger writer for it. If you have never entered the challenge, you definitely owe it to yourself to try it at least once.

I may be a bit devastated now, but I am taking a page out of Stephen King’s book (autobiography lol) and putting that feedback on a peg on my wall to remind myself what not to do next time. I will learn from it, and not let it deter me.

I will be an author!

Leave a Reply

