Single-parenting (Animal-style)

So I’ve been a single mum since Wednesday. Well, that is… a single mum to two cats and one puppy, and by single mum I mean my hubby is away and I’m the only one available to feed and play and cuddle them all. 

Let it be known, I’m not the greatest at this. My cats have not had much loving. But more than that, my puppy has gone stir crazy today. I came home to two destroyed toys. Toys that she’s had since she was a 3-month old puppy. Toys that I had foolishly believed were sacred to her.

At least she is pretty happy once she comes inside and gives the best cuddles ever.

Nevertheless, I’m ready for hubby to be back. He has more time to play with her, so she doesn’t seem to go so psycho. 

Because of this, though, I’ve been pretty slack at writing on this blog. I was writing a short story for Nadia Crowell, but I haven’t quite finished it. Plus I have the second of my series on Best Original Screenplay to work on. I have the list. I just have to spend some time doing it.

This weekend is Round 2 of the Flash Fiction Challenge, so I’ll be working on that as a priority. But if I have time for updates, I will. I should have the results before the end of the week for Round 1, too, and I am soooo excited to find out how I placed. I can’t imagine scoring well, but we shall see! So I will make a mini post for that too. 

As for my personal challenge to get 34 stories in this year, I have admitted defeat for this. I will try still to increase the quantity of stories I write, but I will start this fresh in 2016 with 35 stories for 35 years. 😉 This gives me time to get into a better habit of writing before I challenge myself with it. Mostly I am conscious of the fact that the month of November is completely out. NaNoWriMo will be my focus, and 50k words will be mine this year!

In regards to my 12 week challenge, I will be doing measurements and photos and weigh-ins this weekend. I know for a fact that it has been very positive so far, and I’m already seeing changes in my body. It’s great feeling like I have some energy again, and I’m loving my food.

Pictures to post at some point, but for now, I’ll just leave it at that. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Single-parenting (Animal-style)

  1. I’m trying to wind down my current project so I can be ready for NaNoWriMo but I also don’t want to rush the end sequence (which I am pretty sure I need to largely rewrite).

    I have been working on this project since February last year, barring interruptions like NaNoWriMo and Warlords of Draenor (and Christmas break and XXX and … ad infinitum)

    I wouldn’t worry about the cats. They sleep 23.5 hours of the day anyway.

    Like

    1. Yeah. I really want to focus on getting NaNoWriMo done this year. I’ve taken a week off at the beginning of November for both my 12 week challenge and NaNo. The goal is to have almost half of it done before I go back to work. Starting outline in a couple of weeks since I’m still ironing out a few things. This is a fresh write of an existing subject only.

      My kitties are coping, but any time puppy isn’t inside and I’m sitting down, one of them cuddles with me. Hehe

      Like

Leave a Reply

