Happy 4th of July!

To all my friends, family and readers in the U.S. of A., Happy Independence Day!!!

I’m missing my second favourite holiday of all time for the ninth year in the row. Naturally, living in Australia means that they have no inclination to celebrate such a day, so I miss out every year. My absolute favourite holiday ever is Thanksgiving Day, which, again, would make no sense to celebrate in another country. Every few years, I tell myself I’ll hold a special event for one of these, but then I remember that requires effort and more friends than I think I have. haha

The 4th, being from the deep South, meant a big event with corn dogs and fresh squeezed lemonade and flags everywhere! And family. It’s one of the few days of the year, though, that I think back at my time in the States and look through rose-coloured glasses. I love the Fourth and Thanksgiving for the history behind them, and the sense of community too. The history of the U.S. is so enthralling to me. I do sometimes wonder if I’d have the same feelings about it if I hadn’t lived there and had the history told to me at a young age. Like a mass brainwash. But I feel very similarly about Egyptian, Norse, Australian and British history, and I’m not from any of those places. I just find history fascinating.

I can’t say I love America, but I often wonder if that’s just because I didn’t know much outside of my hometown. Paris, TX was not an amazing place, and I remember growing up saying that once I left I’d never return. I’m pretty proud that this has been the case. I moved away at the age of 21, and other than returning a few times for some of my belongings, I didn’t stay. Part of that was because my parents moved to Dallas, so I had no family tying me down there. But the main part was because I didn’t have a way to get back. By the time I was independent enough to do anything, I moved to Australia.

Since I moved here, I have only gone back once to the States. That was just over a year after I moved here, and it was to say my final goodbyes to my father. It saddens me greatly. Aside from Oklahoma and Arkansas, I didn’t see much of the US before I moved away. I was lucky, in college, and managed to see a few places. So I am definitely keen to see more of it, as a tourist. I keep planning the perfect vacation where we go everywhere we both want to go, but I can’t seem to figure out how I manage to do this and still see my family. Lucky for me my mom and sister live in Dallas. My brother lives in California. So I could manage these, but how long do I stay? I mean… I’m sure my family would want me there more than a couple of days, and I probably owe them that too. Given that it’s been 8 years since I’ve been out there, I think it’s safe to say that if I do go, I need to make the most of it. Because the chances are slim I’d get to go again anytime soon. Unfortunately, I’m not exactly wealthy.

When I think about it, though, I don’t get too upset. After all, I left for a reason. That reason happened to be my hubby, but that’s still a good reason. I don’t regret the decision in the least. I might miss out on the best holidays, but I get to spend the rest of the year happy that I have public healthcare, fair wages, a lovely house, and a job that didn’t require a college degree (which I could never get at home). I can afford to eat fresh, healthy stuff, and I’m not scraping to get by. I’m pretty lucky.

Eventually I’ll get back! But for now, I’ll just keep plodding along trying to make that extra money to finally afford that 8 week trip I have to make. 😉

Leave a Reply

